Saturday, 10 December 2016

SSC CGL 2017 Selection Process

Posted by SSC CGL Expert

Preparing for Upcoming CGL Exam. Know the Detailed Selection Process for CGL 2017 Exam 

If, you are serious of getting a Government Job in 2017, then we have a good news for you. 2017 will be big year, as far hiring is Government sector in concerned. It is expected there will be huge recruitment in Income Tax Department, Central Government Departments and Ministries , Railways etc. And as the recruitment for these departments in being done through SSC CGL Exam, and therefore, there will be Bumper vacancies in CGL 2017 Exam.

SSC had already announced the CGL 2017 Exam Dates for Tier-1 and Tier-2 Exams. The Notification for SSC CGL 2017, will be announced on 11th March, 2017 and the exam is scheduled in the month of June/June 2017. Recently, SSC had released an important Notification regarding the Age Limit for SSC CGL 2017 Exam. As per this Notification, the crucial date for determining the age limit is 1st August, 2017.

If, you are preparing for the Upcoming CGL 2017 Exam, then you might be interested to know, whether, there will be any changes in the Selection process for CGL 2017 Exam. We would like to inform you that CGL Selection Process underwent major changes in 2016 and there is a least possibility that Selection process will further be amended.

In this post, we will discuss the Detailed Selection process for CGL 2017 Exam. It is always, helpful, if you know the Details, Like Syllabus, Pattern Selection process and Scheme of Exam in advance, as these things, will help you in your preparation for the exam. 

How SSC CGL 2017 Selection Process Works ?

The Selection process for CGL 2017 Exam, comprises of  Four tiers viz Tier-1, Tier-2, Tier-3 and Tier-4. Here, each Tier of the Exam, can be understood as different stages of Exam. As we move at the higher level, the competitions gets lower, but the Difficulty level increases.

For Example : In the Tier-1 stage, all the applicants who have applied for CGL Exam, will have to appear for the exam. An approximate no. of 14 lakh candidates have appear in the CGL 2016 Tier-1 Exam.  Out of these 14 lakh, only 1.5 lakh Qualify the Tier-1 Exam and these Qualified candidates, will have to appear in the Tier-2 stage.

Now, we will discuss in details, the Scheme and Pattern of CGL 2017 Exam.

(I) Tier-1 Exam :All those Aspirants, who submitted their applications for CGL 2017 Exam, will have to appear for Tier-1 Exam. Following are the aspects of Tier-1 Exam

1) As per the SSC Calendar 2017, CGL Tier-1 Exam is tentatively scheduled to be held from 19th June to 2nd July, 2017

2) Tier-1 Exam is to be conducted through Online mode only (Objective Type).

3) No. of Questions in Tier-1 Exam have been reduced from 200 to 100 Questions only.  

4) Allotted time for CGL Tier-1 Exam is 75 minutes only. 

5) There is negative marking of 0.50 marks for every incorrect answer.

(II) Tier-2 Exam : Those who qualify the Tier-1 Exam, as per the Cut off marks specified for CGL 2017 Exam, will have to appear for Tier-2 stage. 

Here is the Scheme of SSC CGL 2017 Tier-2 Exam

1) In Tier-2 Stage, there will 4 Papers of 200 marks each. While the Paper-1 and Paper-2 is compulsory for everyone. Paper-3 is only for those, who have applied for Jr. Statistical Officer and Paper-4 is for those, who have applied for Assistant Audit officer in C&AG.

All these Four Papers are conducted through online mode and comprises of Multiple choice Questions 

  • Paper-1 : Quantitative Abilities (100 Questions carrying 200 marks)
  • Paper-2 : English Language and Comprehension (200 Questions carrying 200 marks
  • Paper-3 : Statistics (100 Questions of 200 marks)
  • Paper-4: Finance and Accounts (100 Questions of 200 marks)
Note : For Paper-1, Paper-2 and Paper-4, there will be negative marking of 0.50 marks, while for Paper-2, it is 0.25 for every incorrect answer.

The Detailed information regarding the Scheme and Pattern of Tier-1 and Tier-2 will be discussed in our upcoming post on Syllabus for SSC CGL 2017 Exam.

(III) Tier-3 Exam: The third stage in the SSC CGL 2017 Selection process is Descriptive Paper of 100 marks, which will be conducted through Pen and Paper mode. 

Descriptive Paper comprises of Essay Writing / Letter writing . The Questions in this paper of 10+2 level.

You will need a minimum of 33% marks to Qualify the Descriptive Paper.

(IV) Tier-4 Exam :  Tier-4 of CGL Exam, would continue to be of Data Entry test / Computer Proficiency test . Tier-4 of Exam, would be of qualifying nature.

No Interview in SSC CGL Exam 

Prior to 2015, SSC CGL Selection Process comprises of  Tier-1. Tier-2 and Interview, but from 2016, Government has decided to Do away with Interview for CGL Exam and therefore, as an alternative. SSC had introduced the Descriptive Paper for CGL 2017 Exam.  

Updates ?

It is only after 11th March, 2017, that we get to know the Exact SSC CGL Selection process, however, chances are that there won't be any changes in the Selection process. In case, there are any changes in the CGL Selection process, the same will be updated on this page.

If, you have any Queries related to Selection process for CGL 2017 Exam, you can ask us through the comments section below.
Read More
Real Time Web Analytics