Tuesday, 20 December 2016

SSC CGL 2017 Syllabus for Tier-1 Tier-2

Posted by SSC CGL Expert

Sponsored Links

Looking for SSC CGL Syllabus ? Here is the Details Syllabus for SSC CGL 2017 Exam for Tier-1, Tier-2 and Tier-3 Stage.

Tentative Schedule of SSC CGL 2017 Exam has been announced, and you will be delighted to know that there will be Bumper vacancies in CGL 2017, and most of these vacancies will be in Income Tax Department. So, CGL 2017 will be big event for those, seeking Government Jobs in 2017. If, you have been preparing for SSC Exams for a while, then this post, will enlighten you, on the Changes in the SSC CGL 2017 Syllabus and the New pattern of CGL Exam.

If, you have appeared in the CGL 2016 Tier-1 Exam,  then you have an added advantage, as you are already familiar with the Syllabus, Scheme and Exam Pattern and chances, are there won't by any changes in the Syllabus for CGL 2017 Exam, as SSC had already made Big Changes in Syllabus and Pattern in CGL 2016 Exam, and these changes will be retained for future SSC CGL Exam.

But, If, you are a fresher, and this is your First Experience in CGL Exam, then don't worry, as in this post, we will discuss in detail in the Scheme, Pattern and Syllabus for SSC CGL 2017 Exam. We will separately discuss the Syllabus for Tier-1, Tier-2 and Tier-3 stages.

But before, we discuss the Syllabus, you should know the Important Dates for SSC CGL 2017 Exam. as knowing the dates, will help you in making a preparation plan for the exam.

1) Date of announcement of SSC CGL 2017 Notification : 11th March, 2017

2) Commencement of SSC CGL Online Registration: 11th March to 15th April, 2017

3) Dates of SSC CGL Tier-1 Exam : 19th June to 2nd July, 2017

In our previous post, we have already discussed the Selection Process for SSC CGL 2017 Exam and In this post, we will discuss the Syllabus. It is important to note that along with Syllabus, you need to choose the  Best Books for the exam, that cover the Syllabus and provide in depth analysis of Topics.

Changes in the SSC CGL Pattern and Syllabus 

Remember, there are No Changes made in the Syllabus, changes are made only in the Scheme and Pattern of Exam only. Some of the major changes made by SSC in 2016 pertaining to CGL Exam are

(I) Changes in the Scheme of Tier-1 Exam

1) From 2016, onwards, Tier-1 will be an online Exam. Previously Tier-1 is conducted through Pen Paper Mode.

2) No. of Questions in Tier-1 stage have been reduced from 200 to 100 Questions only

3) There will be 25 Questions in Each Section and each Question carry 2 marks. Previously there were 50 Questions in each Question and every question is of 1 mark only.

4) Total alotted Time for CGL Tier-1 Exam is reduced from 2 hours to 75 minutes only.

5) There is negative marking of 0.50 against every incorrect answer.

(II) Changes in the Tier-2 Exam

In Tier-2 stage, nothing much has been changed, only change in regarding the Mode of Exam.

From 2016 onwards, Tier-2 will be held in Online Mode (Computer Based Paper).

There are No changes in the Syllabus, Pattern and Scheme of Tier-2 Exam

(III) Changes in the Tier-3 Exam

Prior to 2016, Tier-3 of CGL Exam, comprises of Computer Proficiency test /Skill test and even before that, Tier-3 comprises of Interviews too.

But from 2016 CGL Exam, Tier-3 comprises of Descriptive Paper to be conducted in Pen Paper mode. Meanwhile, Tier-IV of CGL Exam comprises of Computer Proficiency test / Skill test, which is of Qualifying nature.

More Details, regarding the Syllabus and Scheme of Tier-3 Exam, will be discussed in the Syllabus section.

Syllabus for SSC CGL 2017 Tier-1 Exam.

Knowing the Syllabus in advance will help you in the long run. As SSC CGL Tier-1 exam is scheduled in the month of June, 2017, you should start your preparation right now, as Syllabus is long and need wide extensive approach.

SSC CGL 2017 Tier-1 Scheme and Pattern
Date of Exam
No. of Questions

19th June to 2nd July, 2017
General Intelligence and Reasoning

75 Minutes
General Awareness
Quantitative Aptitude
English Comprehension

Subject Wise Syllabus for SSC CGL 2017 Tier-1 Exam

SSC has done good thing by announcing the Syllabus in advance. Unlike, IBPS and other recruitment board, SSC had given a detailed Syllabus for each of the 4 subjects of the Tier-1 Exam.

1) General Intelligence and Reasoning : The subject is better known as Reasoning and these days, it is part of almost every competitive exam. Questions in this section, comprises of both Verbal as well as Non-Verbal Reasoning. 

This section comprises of 25 Questions with each question carrying 2 marks.

Here is the Detailed Syllabus 

2) General Awareness: This section requires knowledge of different subjects Like Polity, Economy, History, Geography, General Science etc. The objective is to test the candidate's General Awareness regarding the society and environment around him.

Again 25 Questions will be asked and each question carry weightage of 2 marks per question

Here is the detailed Syllabus for General Awareness section

3) Quantitative Aptitude : In simple words, this is Maths. Here, we have questions on Square Roots, Geometry, Equations, Ratio and Proportion, Time/Speed/Distance , Number system etc.

The Questions in this section are upto 10th standard only. Moreover, this is one of the high scoring section among all. Here, you will have to attempt 25 Questions carrying 50 Marks

Here is the Detailed Syllabus for Quantitative Aptitude Section

 4) English Comprehension : Without this section, CGL Syllabus, can never be complete. The purpose of this section is to check candidates ability to understand English, Application of Grammar rules, Writing ability etc. Questions in this section comprises of 

  • Sentence Correction
  • Use of Noun, Pronoun, Verb, Adverb etc
  • Synonym / Antonyms
  • Passage / Comprehension
  • Fill in the blanks etc

Syllabus for SSC CGL 2017 Tier-2 Exam 

Those who qualify the CGL Tier-1 Exam, will have to appear for Tier-2 Exams which is scheduled from 5th to 8th September, 2017. It is worth mentioning here that Tier-2 will be an online exam.

Tier-2 comprises of 4 Papers, out of which Paper-1 and Paper-2 are compulsory for everyone, while the Paper-3 &4 are for those, who have applied for specific posts.

Paper-1 : Quantitative Abilities
Paper-2: English Language and Comprehension
Paper-3: Statistics
Paper-4 Finance and Economics

Here is the Detailed Syllabus of CGL Tier-2 Exam 2017

SSC CGL 2017 Tier-2 Scheme and Pattern

No. of Questions
Quantitative Abilities
2 hours

English Language and Comprehension
2 hours
2 hours
General Studies (Finance and Economics)
2 hours

Paper-III is only for those who have applied for the post of Statistical Investigator and Compiler 

Paper-IV is for those who have applied for the post of Assistant Audit Officer

Note : For Detailed syllabus of all the above Paper, aspirants are advised to check the upcoming SSC CGL 2017 Notification

Syllabus for Tier-3 Exam.

Tier-3 of CGL Exam, comprises of Descriptive Paper of 100 marks to be conducted in Pen and Paper mode.

1) SSC CGL Descriptive Paper is bilingual ie You can opt to write the Paper either in Hindi Or in English Language

2) Duration of Descriptive Paper is 1 hour

3) Descriptive Paper comprises of 
  • Writing an Essay/Passage of minimum 250 words
  • Writing Letter / Application of 150 words
4) Standard of Descriptive Paper is of 10+2 Level

5) Applicants need to obtain a minimum of 33% marks to qualify this paper

Update ?

We will update this page, on 11th March, 2017 when the CGL Notification gets announced. Moreover, if there are any changes in the Syllabus and Exam Pattern, we will update on this page.

If you have any queries, related to the Syllabus of CGL 2017 Exam, feel free to ask us in the comments section below.


Post a Comment

Real Time Web Analytics